Union troops seized this residence and converted it to a hospital. After the war, it became the hall of Robert E. Lee Camp of Confederate Veterans, established in 1884 and named in honor of Alexandria’s Robert E. Lee. Today the Mary Custis Lee-17th Virginia Regiment Chapter of the United Daughters of the Confederacy operates a museum dedicated to the Alexandria companies of the 17th Virginia Infantry with personal items from Alexandrians, including James Jackson and the Lee family. Visitors can also learn about the statue "Appomattox," which stands at the intersection of N. Washington and Prince streets. Open noon to 2 p.m. the first Saturday of the month Jan, Feb, April-June, and Sept-Nov (closed December and March). Open 10 a.m.-2 p.m. July and August. Free with donations accepted.